Horseshoes and Horsetails

Screen shot 2013-04-11 at 12.21.44 PM

I have just gotten back into using an SLR camera after being without one for almost 9 months. I have grown so accustomed to the ease of my iPhone for photos—so much so that the memory is full of them! And although I have missed the crispness of an SLR, it feels less than second nature to me now. I am also working with an unfamiliar, borrowed camera and have made a switch from Pentax to Nikon, so the whole experience is a little like learning to drive again on a foreign car.

In any case, I have been letting my muse move me as she pleases. I have taken a variety of shots of my immediate surroundings as I re-familiarize myself with the photo-lens as an extension of my eye. As I downloaded my first batch of photos, a natural (if not only superficial/name-based) pairing emerged—horseshoes and horsetails.

First, the horseshoes:

Darby

My friend Darby is a farrier. Actually, Darby is a badass farrier. She is also sort of a magician, in my estimation. She has a whole setup where she heated, bent, and shaped the metal for the shoe out of the back of her truck in my driveway. She just offered this (the forging of a horseshoe plus the experience of watching its making) as a gift to me. It was one of those stunning experiences and I am so grateful to have a little more luck in my life!

And for the horsetails:

Horsetails

I was driving home one rainy afternoon and as I was passing by, the light was a gorgeous blue-y hue and some interesting shapes caught my eye. There were these thick stalks poking straight out of the ground in droves, and I pulled over to get a better look. Upon closer inspection, there were probably hundreds of these horsetails (Equisetum telmateia) from Latin equus (horse) + seta (bristle). These are truly ancient looking plants. They are stunning and not native to my midwestern home, so I stopped to get some photos.

Screen shot 2013-04-11 at 12.23.41 PM

As I took these photos, I never imagined a pairing. I didn’t put the horsetail/horseshoe connection together until after the fact, but the pairing is intriguing, if not dichotomous. What do you think? Do these present a dichotomy or is that too strong of a word?

IMG_0134

Horseshoe

ALL PHOTOS IN THIS POST TAKEN BY ME. ALL ARE SUBJECT TO CREATIVE COMMONS LICENSE. THANK YOU!
5 thoughts on “Horseshoes and Horsetails

  1. Pingback: Birds, flowers and horsetails | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  2. I have never seen horsetails before, and always wondered. What great photos of the horseshoe, too. Did you hang it over your door? 🙂

Leave a Reply

