Isreally Cool

1044580_649887867886_373405760_nI just got back from an adventure in a place of beauty, borders, and a slow bus driver named Boris. I am using “just” a bit loosely, since it’s been over a week since I got back, but I am still reeling. It was a virtually sleepless ten days in Israel. (Though I did get some naps in on the bus rides that took three times as long with bus driver Boris at the wheel.)

I went with trip organizer Shorashim, which was an awesome choice. The greatest benefits for me were having the wonderful guide Yossi, (pictured below), as well as Becky and Jacklyn. All were smart, compassionate, and organized.946520_648902767036_2104547744_n

One of the best things about Shorashim (which means “roots,” by the way), was that I became friends with a great group of Israeli soldiers. They were fully integrated part of our big 47-person group (which is not the case with other similar programs). I can’t imagine the trip without them.

580188_648906020516_1279842065_n

One of the early hikes we did as a group culminated in a waterfall and swimming hole. I get to hike quite a bit out here in California, so the way to the waterfall was a pretty easy hike down for me, and with some slightly challenging moments where we crossed couple small streams. It was gorgeous. All of my environmental studies trip photographer habits came back.

1011709_648903071426_101480953_n

It was as if I had dreamed it into existence—this exact spot! It was incredibly idyllic, I just had to smile at the sight of people climbing and jumping and swimming around so gleefully in this oasis. It was full of magic and relief from the heat even though we had not yet even experienced the “true” desert ecology of the south.

1010267_648904204156_78118382_n

During the swim I scraped my knee, but I am proud of this battle scar. It is an early marker of the trip, for me. (Diving right in.)

1005263_648904214136_1942852474_n

I wouldn’t dare sum up my experience with one blog post or one chapter of a book. My experience was inextricably linked to the experiences of my group—the fun, the little bits of gossip, the drama, the trust-building. All of my peer’s experiences touched my own. Truly, though, this group of 47+ strangers had a ten-day moment in time where they became a unit. (Is this sounding cliche yet?) Seriously, though, we had our daily traditions (naa, na na na na … Milat HaYom!), our early morning wake ups (culminating in a 4am morning hike), and general evening debauchery. We formed as true a team attitude as I have ever experienced, first-hand.

999478_648904523516_431674755_nFood and water were high priorities, since we were being taken through the country on a whirlwind tour, the pace was both invigorating and exhasting (on that slow Boris bus for hours of travel, but travelling for what felt like all day in a new landscape). I barely had a moment to digest the food, let alone the experiences or the sights. 
998339_648913794936_1780138333_n

For now, be sure to stay hydrated, i’ll write again soon.

ALL PHOTOS IN THIS POST ARE BY ME. ALL ARE SUBJECT TO CREATIVE COMMONS LICENSE. THANK YOU!
2 thoughts on “Isreally Cool

  1. Did you eat olives? When I went to Israel years ago, I was struck by the presence of olives everywhere, even in bars where we might have peanut snacks. It is so cool to see the place where, basically, all of western civilization began. Thanks for the note. Looking forward to the conclusions.

Leave a Reply

