cousin’s camp

Somehow I always find photos the hardest to delete—even to move to an external hard drive. I really need to shift my perspective and habits in that realm. It would be good to let that go because I have lost so many files in the past (all my college and study abroad photos, in particular). I am lucky to not have had a devastating computer crash since about 2009. I am done pushing my luck, though.

Part of my new back up plan is to actually do something with the photos. And this post is the result.

I just stumbled upon these photos from 2010 I could barely believe they were still in mint condition! Just kidding. They are from an era that seems so long ago, I can barely yearn for it anymore. I was living in a 2 bedroom duplex for less than $750 a month. It was the first place of my own and though I was already two years out, I was getting to have my first summer since college. And I had some perks: a farm, a salary, and love and family all around. What a beautiful and blessed moment in my life. Seems only right to reflect and honor those times.

Screen shot 2013-08-06 at 12.44.13 AMCousin’s camp is a special family tradition. The cousins on my dad’s side all get together as often as we can to play around, reconnect, and check out from the rest of the world. We are really good at it. Once we made a “film noir” . . . that was probably about ten years ago, now. Maybe more. Now we have little ones to dote upon, play dress up, and make messes with.

These photos are from a time before the little ones could attend. Cousin’s camp was in a different era. I’ll let these photos speak for themselves.

IMGP4966IMGP4987 IMGP4993 IMGP4994 IMGP4995 IMGP4996 IMGP4999 IMGP5001 IMGP5003IMGP5018 IMGP5016 IMGP5020 IMGP5025 IMGP5026 IMGP5027 IMGP5031 IMGP5032 IMGP5034 IMGP5036 IMGP5040 IMGP5043 IMGP5044 IMGP5059 IMGP5061 IMGP5063 IMGP5064ALL IMAGES IN THIS POST ARE SUBJECT TO CREATIVE COMMONS LICENSE. THANK YOU!
2 thoughts on “cousin’s camp

Leave a Reply

