Alchemizing, Part 2

I am currently preparing for my first solo art exhibition in California. I had a solo show with photos from my farm(er) project in Chicago just before I left in Spring 2012, but I pulled that one off with less “artistic concern,” I would say. Actually, I don’t know how to say it. For the last show, I had that existing body of work ready to go as well as a great printer at my disposal. I feel like I generally have a keen eye for aesthetics, but there is something very challenging to me about collaging light, right now.

So last night I took some deep breaths and I began alchemizing some of my recent frustrations (just a pretty classic “rough day”!) and also some lingering sadness lately—using alchemy to turn all of that around—pouring that energy into this work, here and now.

So much great art is born this way. In fact, my dad, (who is also an artist), always said “there is nothing like a show to get you producing tons of great work” and I hope that is the case for me, too!! Knowing an event is coming is of course what I base my work at EcoFarm off of, too. For this show, though, so much is happening and I hope I can pull it all together in time. I know I will!

Here are some recent snapshots of my process.

20130814-224910.jpg

20130814-225329.jpg

20130815-002621.jpg

20130814-224854.jpg

20130815-003352.jpg

20130815-003415.jpg

By the way, Alchemizing part one is here, if you would like to read more.

ALL PHOTOS IN THIS POST TAKEN BY ME. ALL ARE SUBJECT TO CREATIVE COMMONS LICENSE. THANK YOU!
3 thoughts on “Alchemizing, Part 2

  1. Enjoyed reading your blog this morning
    This is what I love about preparing for a show, exam or competition, it focuses you to finish everything you start and perfect it because you’re not creating just for you but for others to hopefully enjoy too.
    Charlotte

    • Thank you Charlotte! So glad you read my thoughts, it is great to have your thoughts too. I was able to share my first “test-run” with some friends last night and I got some really amazing support! Some genuine “WOWs,” “OOHs,” & “AAHs” was enough to make me grin and feel great about my next steps in preparing to show this work to a broader audience. I am so excited!

      Also, you have an incredible voice!! If you are ever in California or Chicago, please let me know, it would be amazing to hear you live!!

      Warmly,
      Liz

      • Best of luck Liz, let me know how you get on, I love oohs and ahhs you can never get enough 🙂
        My friend Danielle is from California and she has asked me to visit so you never know 🙂
        Charlotte

Leave a Reply

