in oz

I just discovered an amazing yoga practice called Wizard of Oz Chakra Flow. Chakras are the seven energy centers in the body, which, according to aruvedic and yogic thought, can come into and out of alignment. Some believe in an eighth chakra: the aura. chakras explainedThe Wizard of Oz Chakra flow practice starts in the the first chakra, or root chakra, by considering what it means to be home. The color associated with this chakra is red, which was like Dorothy’s ruby slippers. Then, just as the tornado came through Kansas, yogi MC Sweet reminds us of going with “the flow of life” and how a storm can help to shift expectations and uncover how we are feeling. The third chakra, the solar plexus, is yellow and connects to the yellow brick road and our unique journeys. The fourth chakra, or the heart chakra, is green—and we have reached the emerald city! MC Sweet brings forth the vision that Dorothy was welcomed by all of the citizens of the emerald city and the beacon of the green light of the heart. Then we come to the clear blue of the throat chakra, and Dorthy speaks up, making a powerful declaration to the wizard that she wants to go home—a clear statement from the heart. But the journey is not over! We next move into the third eye chakra, whose midnight blue is likened to the crystal ball of the Wicked Witch of the West. Finally, the crown chakra, the seventh chakra, represents Dorothy’s final magical transition back home. May you find home wherever you are. Namaste.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s